Cheese cave from a domestic fridge

Home The Curd Nerd Forum For Home Cheese Makers Equipment Cheese cave from a domestic fridge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Roger B
    Participant

I am new to cheesemaking but I wanted to make a cheese cave from a domestic fridge without touching or modifying any of the standard thermostats/wiring.
    I finally found this TIMETOP 200-240V Digital Temperature Controller Thermocouple -40 °C to 120 °C with Sensor” target=”_blank”>http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00CMA2IN8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 on Amazon.co.uk
    This little device allows you to set a temperature and then switches the power on and off within a preset threshold of that temperature.
    I wired a plug, via length of cable, to the device and then wired the output to a socket into which I plugged the fridge.
    I set the temperature to 13 deg C and located the temperature sensor inside the fridge.
    Bingo! The temperature is maintained between 12 degs C and 14 degs C. If I want to use another fridge I just unplug – relocate – plug in and Bingo! once again.
    Of course the inside light does not come on unless the device has switched on.

#1857 Reply
    mkinson
    Participant

Thank-you Roger B for your helpful post; I was wondering how on earth I could convert an old fridge for a cheese cave without too much technical know-how!

#1858 Reply
    mkinson
    Participant

PS is it possible to post a picture of your setup please?

#1860 Reply
    Roger B
    Participant

mkinson – I’m sure it’s possible — it’s just that I’m not sure how — guidance would be appreciated.

#1907 Reply
    Christine
    Participant

@Roger B
    Take a photo – make sure it is not too big then click on the “Choose File” button at the bottom of the Post area and select your photo as the file to attach.

#1908 Reply
    Christine
    Participant

@mikinson
    There is a simpler device available if you are in NZ or Aus.