Cleaning equipment

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    chris
    Participant

What is the best way to clean vats, sinks, utensils, colanders, cheese cave, counters, wood used for aging the cheese, etc. I’m afraid that I’m going to have the posibility of getting e-coli or botulism in my aged cheese and I won’t know before I try it. Should I use Star-san which says it needs no rinsing? Or bleach and water (how much bleach to a gallon) and how do you not get bleach in your cheese? Or should I use white vinegar and does that leave an off flavor in the cheese?..Also when pressing, what should I have as a base below my cheesecloth in the open bottom of my mold? Right now it is wood but again how do I clean that wood? Thank in advance!

#4002 Reply
    Punkin
    Participant

Chris, I use bleach and water (teaspoon to a gallon) but there are many better solutions. Star-san is a good option but I like to rinse everything. I am a welder/fabricator and love stainless steel. I bring home every stainless scrap I get. I have perforated stainless steel draining mats, stainless table tops, and all stainless presses. That is not available to all and there are very inexpensive mat material available at almost any cheese supply website. I also like wood aging planks but they are tough to clean. COP is the best way (hot water tanks) but you need to cut your wood to fit and COP tanks are not practical for hobiest. Bleach and water is not the best way to clean wood because it leaves a residue that is counter productive when you are cultivating good bacteria (white molds) on your aging cheese. Maybe another can weigh in on the best way to clean up wood?

#4003 Reply
    chris
    Participant

Thanks T-cheese. I guess I’ll use Star-San for all but the counters and the wood. I use it when I’m making my wine. I like to rinse it too. Like you said, maybey there is someone out there that knows of a wood cleaner.

#4004 Reply
    Ray Johnson
    Participant