Natural inoculation with kefir along with DVI

Home The Curd Nerd Forum For Home Cheese Makers The Water Cooler Natural inoculation with kefir along with DVI

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Pete Gorsline

First – I’m completely new to cheese making – I am still in the process of studying / gathering equipment and sourcing my milk – a lot of work to do yet.

That said – I just finished reading David Asher’s book and it makes a lot of sense – inoculating a pasteurized milk with kefir grains to re-establish a natural culture profile. As my local laws (Utah) aren’t set up very well to get raw milk – I have to look at pasteurized.

My question is whether it makes sense to establish a general & broad profile of bacteria etc. with kefir grains and then further inoculate with a specific DVI culture to move the flavor and development of an aged cheese in a specific “direction”.

Thanks for your input – I look forward to hearing from you.

#4721 Reply
    Tom Moran

Pete, you are beginning way out in front of me. I would have never attempted to make my own starter and I applaud you for it. I can tell you that I have made plenty of both raw and pasturized milk cheese’s and both have their pros and cons. I find pasturized is easier to predict but needs age, and a lot of age, to get any depth of the flavor. Good luck and keep experimenting.

#4756 Reply
    Pete Gorsline

Tom – thanks for the reply. I need to go into the other forum and make an introduction – I’ll put that on the list of things to do.