Noob expat South Korea

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    user6244
    Participant

Hey , well looks like I got the cheese bug….as usual for me I jumped in with both feet…

Just made some mozz,feta,cheddar, and tomorrow making pepper jack,,,,,,

tools

cave

first cheddar

#1917 Reply
    lesley
    Participant

That is a beautiful looking cheddar – did you do the traditional cheddaring method or go for the farmhouse cheddar? Our first attempt at a traditional cheddar ended in the ugliest cheese I’ve seen – it’s holding together but it’s hard as a brick and you can see every curd in outline.

#1918 Reply
    user6244
    Participant

Thanks,,, I was pretty happy at the first time result so far….but time will tell πŸ™‚

As for the type of cheddar,, I am still kinda new at this and am using a recipe from the Mad Millie Artisan Cheese Kit it just calls it cheddar, I looked around the internet and from what I can tell I didn’t do any slabbing and turning over the curds that I have made a farm house cheddar…….

just finished up with the Pepper jack tonight or it is in the press for the next 12hrs at 44lbs.

I followed the directions to the letter on time and temp etc except I deviated on the peppers….

I hope this doesn’t cause a failure,,, as the directions call out taking a teaspoon of hot chili flakes and 1/4 cup of water boiling for 15 minutes straining then adding the peppered water to the milk,,,setting aside the strained chili..

I used crushed red pepper,, I also had a fresh hot green chili pepper I sliced into very very thin slices, and a jalapeno I boiled the green chili and jalapeno separate from the crushed peppers, and dumped the liquid then mixed the strained peppers into the red chili flakes ,I am hoping to have a hotter pepper jack then what can be bought in the stores πŸ™‚